#MMM17-Me-Made-May 2017 Jumper

IMG_5375

Just a couple posts left for Me-Made-May 2017! Many, many years ago I made a sweet pullover loose-fitting jumper that was truly one of my favorite spring into summer dresses. Sadly the pattern was beyond repair and and also out of print. So, when I came across McCalls M6739 which is very similar in design, I had to take a crack at it!

IMG_5490.JPG

Using a suiting weight black Irish linen from my stash, this jumper came out great! I chose View B, with just a couple pattern modifications:  lowering the neckline in both the front and back, and lining the deep side front/back pockets with a contrast black and gray polka dot cotton fabric for fun!

IMG_5492.JPG

It’s such a comfortable jumper for the warm weather as I can wear a t-shirt under it or not. It’s unlined, all seams were serged on the inside and I topstitched all seams on the outside. As we all know, linen wrinkles very easily, and for some that is a no-no. I’m totally ok with the wrinkles. I know that the more this dress is washed the softer the hand and drape will become.

IMG_5464

Thanks to both my willing and patient adult children for taking these photos!

For more on Me-Made-May 2017, click here.

Leave a Reply

