Back To School: Sugar Skull Tote

IMG_4651.JPG

Well it’s coming upon that time of the year and to ‘celebrate’ back to school (?!), I made this fun loving tote! I created this bag to use as a teaching sample for an adult summer sewing workshop that focused on making bags with pockets and zippers. Last week, I decided to finish it up in time for my own back to school experience, which starts today! As an assistant teacher at our beloved local nursery school, we will begin home visits this morning to introduce ourselves to our Terrific 2’s and their families and then at night I start the first of four college night courses for a state teaching certification. I am both teacher and student, something I love to be!

Now about this highly functional tote! To help determine the size of my tote, I had a paper shopping bag from Anthropologic that had just about the perfect dimensions and worked well as a guide. The Sugar Skull themed fabrics were purchased a couple years ago from The City Quilter, NYC. The golden yellow batik is from my stash. Even though the “Skull” fabrics were a fairly good weight for a quilting fabric, I did fuse a mid weight interfacing to every piece to give the bag more stability. Those batiks are quite finely woven but on the thin side, and the one I used definitely needed the extra interfacing support. In the pic above, you can see an nice roomy outside pocket, trimmed with vintage pom pom fringe, to hold my keys (which will now not fall to the bottom of my bag!)

IMG_4652.jpg

On the other side of the bag, there’s a lined zippered pocket for my mobile phone.

IMG_4654.jpgInside there’s a lined side pocket and a centered, zippered compartment that can hold a textbook or laptop.

IMG_4659.jpg A sports utility zipper was a good choice as a closure: durable enough to take the constant opening and closing. There’s a 2″ gusset on the bottom. For over the shoulder straps, I used a sturdy, braided sand and navy striped trim purchased at a millinery clearance sale this summer in NYC.

Wishing all an exciting and enlightening Summer into Fall!

Photographed by Tessa Duke.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Mervosh
    Aug 29, 2016 @ 17:05:01

    Oh, E, we wish you all the best on your “school” adventures! The tote is beautiful and will surely brighten your day. Love to you!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Sugar Stitching | B~Inspired

Leave a Reply

