Back To School Clothes!

IMG_4586.jpg

Up here in New England we have had one heat wave after another this summer. So this week, to beat the scorching heat and increasing humidity, I hunkered down in my studio and went on a bit of a sewing binge! My focus was to whip up a few things to wear for back to school, which is is only a couple weeks away! This fall I will be both teacher and student! I will continue teaching afternoons and weekends with private sewing lessons and group workshops in my home studio and offsite to kids of all ages. I am also so excited to return to my positions (assistant and support) mornings at beloved St Pauls Nursery School. And I will begin the first of four college courses in Early Childhood Development for state certification. With this packed schedule, I decided to make a few things to take me through those hot, sticky first days of school!.

Pictured above is a box pleated skirt made from an indigo cotton batik fabric with elastic casing at the waist and inseam pockets, Simplicity 1970. Easy and cool to wear all day into night!

IMG_4581.jpg

I picked up this gorgeous printed, double knit fabric from Mood NYC to make a shift dress for our daughter’s college graduation. My layout for the dress left me a nice sized remnant, enough for this simple pull on skirt. I modified New Look 6384, by giving the shape a bit more of a flare and adding pockets.IMG_4587.jpgThis last look is a split skirt that I modified from New Look S0871 by eliminating the overskirt and tie and adding pockets. The fabric, from Joann’s, is a stretch knit. It features a high waist that will look and feel cool with a loose tee shirt type top.

This should round my back to school transition wardrobe. Next will be some pieces for cool, crisp days and nights of autumn!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Mervosh
    Aug 13, 2016 @ 17:29:26

    So pretty! Love the fabrics!

    Reply

  2. Veronak
    Aug 13, 2016 @ 20:25:45

    Very nice. I’m teaching myself to sew via YouTube tutorials and every blog I can get my hands on.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

