A Garland of Well Wishes

IMG_4540

A very, very dear friend has been going through a rough time and when considering how I could best bring some cheer while she recovers from procedure and treatment I decided on making her a special garland.  My vision was to fashion a variety of lovely calming blue printed cotton fabric strips into a garland where she could attach some of the tons of well wishes she would receive. This is one very special woman, we are talking about, whose kindness and optimism knows no bounds. Her bounty of cards and messages could probably fill several garlands (don’t worry friend, I will be sending you more Blue clothespins!).

The process…First I enjoyed shopping through my huge stash of printed quilting weight cottons to assemble a group of calming blue prints (our girl loves the ocean!). Next I rotary cut several 3″ wide strips of varying lengths of each fabric and tied them onto a sturdy, nylon cording I picked up at Home Depot. I cord was about 10-11′ in length.

IMG_4541

I found that lovely gold toned painted sea star at Michaels. Using an awl I pierced a hole in the top of said sea star and used lightweight gold wire to attach it to the cording.

 

image1

On each end I tied on some natural raffia, a small shell and my own note of well wishes. Medium sized blue clothespins from Michaels will hold her cards in place. I am thrilled that she and her hubs hung the garland from their balcony…what a peaceful backdrop (thanks D for taking the photo!!). Enjoy and heal my friend!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Mervosh
    Jul 20, 2016 @ 19:07:08

    What a lovely idea and best wishes to your dear friend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

