Shibori on the 4th!

IMG_4529.jpg

There’s something pretty exciting about having free time to dye fabric! And that’s just what I did this July 4th weekend. What a treat! The weather was absolutely perfect: sunny, warm, dry with a constant sweet breeze. So I set up my work station outside.

The plan was to Shibori dye tablecloths for summer entertaining, although I also threw in a bunch of scarves and summer cotton tops! My love affair with all things navy and indigo continues, so all three dye baths were of that color. I used Procion MX Reactive Dyes from Prochemical.

Shown above is a cotton/linen cloth with handkerchief style hemming that is quite long, about 100+ inches, perfect for my farmable. Rectangular wood shapes were placed inside accordion folds and bound with hemp. Here is a detail shot..

IMG_4530.jpg

Tablecloth #2 pictured below, also a rectangle and just a bit shorter in length, was also cotton but with a woven texture. I purchased it a while ago from Target. I accordion folded and then bound it crosswise with cotton cording.

IMG_4531.jpg

If you look closely in the detail shot, you can see the crosshatching design, which is was not only pretty but also added a nice heft to the cloth.

IMG_4532.jpg

This last tablecloth was actually gifted to me. Originally an midweight, ivory colored cotton canvas cloth, I bound it using the Japanese”Kumo” technique with cotton cording, thus creating a spiderweb design.

IMG_4534.jpg

A close up…

IMG_4535.jpg

I’m over the moon with the results from this dyeing session. Now I’m thinking that I need some cloth napkins to go with?!!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Loretta Marvel
    Jul 05, 2016 @ 06:58:14

    Elizabeth , these are over the moon! You have become a master of this. I adore indigo, too. That circular one is AMAZING!

    Reply

  2. Nancy Barry MacBride
    Jul 05, 2016 @ 07:29:20

    Very beautiful!

    Reply

  3. Katie
    Jul 05, 2016 @ 20:04:06

    Elizabeth, these are fabulous and I’m sure you had fun with the process!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

