Me-Made-May 2016 Post #10

IMG_4420.jpg

Well here we are with my last post for the global sewing challenge, Me-Made-May 2016! The photos from my last couple posts were taken during our daughter’s college commencement weekend up in Ithaca, NY. So many beautiful settings! The weather was less than ideal for most of the time but the sun did make a couple appearances and when it did…we were ready!  Graduation night we dined at a very special restaurant, John Thomas Steakhouse. Located right behind JTS is the La Tourelle Resort & Spa. There was this sweet little garden shed on the property with a vibrant floral mural, perfect for the shot. Wow!  While posing in front this joyous art I imagined there was a mini sewing/art studio inside!

This is the dress I had made to wear to the graduation ceremony that morning. (However due to the damp wet weather, I ended up wearing a different “me Made” midi length maxi knit dress.) This fabric is a printed, double knit from Mood NYC. Although bit heavier in weight and less stretchy than the knits I have been working with lately, it worked great with this pullover shift style dress. I used commercial pattern McCalls 6886 and was able to keep pretty true to the silhouette, except I changed the sleeveless sleeve to a cap sleeve.

Thanks everyone for following me through my first Me-Made-May challenge. Posting twice a week was definitely manageable. I so appreciate all your very kind comments! I hope you found inspiration to create some of your own “me-mades”! Thanks again to SoZo for creating and maintaining #MMM. There’s nothing like a good challenge to get the creative juices going and sewing machine revved up! I am thrilled to report I have acquired new followers and new-to-me bloggers to follow as a result of participating! Expanding my handmade world! Yay! See ya’ll next spring for #MMM17!

 

Leave a Reply

