25 Days of Make & Give- Day 25!

Merry Christmas Everyone!

We made it! Congrats to all those who put their creative abilities to worthwhile and charitable uses this season!

Doesn’t it feel great to make and give?!

For my M & G on Day 25, I am gifting my two children with my annual handmade Christmas Tree ornament. Someday when they have their own Christmas trees, they will each have their own collection of hand mades to decorate with (if they like? no pressure!).

IMG_4063

 

This year’s ornie was inspired by my Shibori fabric dyeing adventures this summer and fall. For this ornament I used fabric that featured the “Arashi” binding technique where you wrap the fabric around a PVC pole and bind it with twine. Next, I layered the dyed organic cotton twill fabric with batting also dyed. Never dyed batting before…easy peasy!

IMG_3915

I then stitched the sandwiched fabrics in a heart shape and used some of the dyed twine for the hanging loop. Waste not want not?!

The last part of the process was using Sashiko hand stitching. I’m pretty excited to continue to expand my knowledge and practice of this very simple but impactful “little stabs” or “big stitch” needle art form. In my 2016 workshops I will be combining both Sashiko stitching and Shibori dyeing. Can’t wait!

IMG_4064

But now it’s time to slow everything down and enjoy my much look forward time off with family and friends.

Thank you all for following my 25 Days of Make & Give for 2015! Wishing you all a very Merry Christmas and a Happy and Healthy New Year!. Be inspired!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Betti zucker
    Dec 25, 2015 @ 15:15:40

    Thank YOu for sharing your inspiriting 25 days of Make and Give!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

