25 Days of Make & Give-Day 8

“Goin South”

For those who have been following my blog,  I posted about the numerous Shibori fabric dyeing workshops I taught this past summer. In planning these workshops, I tried to think ahead about pieces I would like to create and gift during this holiday season. Actual and online shops offer many interesting items to try out in the dye bath. So when I came across these very gauzy lightweight cotton shawls, I was excited to experiment with them. However, the shawls must have been a blend of cotton and synthetic fibers. The Procion MX Reactive Dyes that I use are primarily for natural fibers and these shawls didn’t take to them as I had hoped.  Sometimes in the dyeing process this happens, in this case, it was a good thing!

IMG_3981

I love this shade of soft, pale blue, so dreamy!

Two dear friends had moved from my hometown down to Florida and Nola respectively and I thought these beauties would be a perfect “make & give” for those coolish southern nights. The tags are hand stamped and lettered. The dyed twine was from binding up the shawls for the dye baths.

Enjoy your cozy “Make & Give”, my friends, miss you both!!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Mervosh
    Dec 08, 2015 @ 16:28:34

    Such a pretty color! I am sure that they will love their Shibori! Thank you so much for my lovely green piece!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

