Art Retreat Threads: Bottoms!

IMG_3409 BOTTOMS! Here’s a lil recap on the sample bottoms I embellished for my upcoming workshop, “Art Retreat Threads” at Art Is You, Stamford, this October.  One of the easiest and quickest ways to embellish a look is to use stamps and stencils with fabric paint. As this year is the 10th Anniversary of Art is You, I thought I would use both store bought and hand made stencils and rubber stamps to embellish these bottoms as a homage! I love wearing these cotton yoga pants when I am putting long hours in my studio…they are so comfy and yet have a creative flair.  Another little benefit is that should I need to run out to do errands, I wouldn’t hesitate keeping these on…cute in and out of the studio! IMG_3408   I am classifying overalls in the “Bottoms” category.  I have two samples to present! My first was actually a pair of overalls with shorts on the bottom.  I removed the crotch seam and turned it into a overalls skirt! IMG_3339 This piece was calling out for some journalling and so I responded on the back with… IMG_3346   And then with this on the front… IMG_3340 With a little help from a skinny belt, a bouquet of raw edged muslin blooms and some vintage lace around the unhemmed bottom, we were go to go! I can’t wait to wear these overalls this Fall! IMG_3430 I loved these overalls but they had one too many holes for me! So, I sewed in patches using reverse appliqué, added embroidery stitching and finally stamping with fabric paint to make them pop! For more on these overalls, refer to my blogpost….click here. IMG_3419 As you can see the possibilities are many to recycle, upcycle and alter clothing, that you already own and that fit you properly but are just sitting in your closet, are endless! Some changes, as you can figure, are quicker fixes than others but we will explore, and get to as many as possible in my workshop!. Registration for my class “Art Retreat Threads at Art Is You 2015, Stamford, CT is still open! Click here for more information.

Leave a Reply

