Art Retreat Threads Recap: Tops

IMG_2785

As many of you know, I am teaching a workshop, “Art Retreat Threads”, on  Saturday, October 10th, 2015 at Art Is You…Stamford, CT.  To show prospective students some of the unlimited ways the could recycle/alter/upcyle garments they already own into fun and unique pieces they can enjoy wear when making art at home or away.

I thought I would run a few posts to recap and to also introduce the workshop to those still considering classes at AIY.

Time for a Fashion Show!!

Today’s feature are TOPS.

IMG_2692

As pictured above, I decided to stamp the name of my workshop on this little T to create a signature piece. Stamping is easy peasy. I used Jacquard Textile Paint and the dress form was drawn free hand. Acrylic paint mixed with fabric medium works fine too ( I have used acrylic paint alone and had no problem with it regarding repeated washings etc.).

IMG_2694

Now Top #2 is more like a tunic. Can u believe this piece started out as a plain ol’ grey sweatshirt! I machine appliquéd the letters  and the flowers and then added a piece of white cotton eyelet, from a flea market found skirt, onto the bottom! Cuteness!

 

IMG_3166

Again a outstretched old cropped sweatshirt. I thought I’d take the loose, cropped look a step further by adding batik fabric inserts on the side seams. The embellishment is a free motioned flower that I beaded.  For more on this, click here.

The last Top, is a homage to our dear Art is You Retreats that are celebrating their 10th year!

IMG_3448

Under this nifty hoodie, is a baseball T. The number 10 is hand drawn, I will have it available for workshop attendees to use to make their own commemorative/anniversary pieces!. Using fusible on the wrong side of the fabric was the technique here, and I followed up with top stitching all around. For more on this T, click here.

These Tops are just some of the ways students can change up simple T’s, sweatshirts and button downs. A basic knowledge of hand and machine sewing is all you need!

There is still time to sign up for my workshop,”Art Retreat Threads” at Art is You, Stamford!!

For information and registration, click here.

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Mervosh
    Jul 15, 2015 @ 20:32:08

    I love your title top! Your students will love it. Any chance that others could by any extras?! Can’t wait to see you all!

    Reply

  2. Lynn Mervosh
    Jul 15, 2015 @ 20:33:10

    Please pardon my spelling…I meany “buy”!

    Reply

  3. betti zucker
    Jul 16, 2015 @ 07:26:31

    Your ART RETREAT THREADS is awesome! Your students will all want one!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

