Vintage: Then & Now

IMG_3532

I was so excited to see my contribution to the new issue of Uppercase Magazine, Issue #26, “Stories of Doilies & Lace.” Over the years I have amassed quite a collection, thanks mainly to my beloved, late Great Aunt Angie and a dear family friend Ida. These little lacey treasures have found their way onto my dresser, dining table and under glassware. I love how they all have that doily look (ha!).   Yet they also exhibit subtle differences due to type, weight and color of thread and more obviously, the countless different crocheting patterns.  I have read in my research on doilies and lace that many needle artists would make up many of these patterns as they went along.  Some patterns, like with quilting, were regional. My story tells about how devoted my Great Aunt was to her needlework. She would put in long hours as a factory timekeeper during the day and then when she finally had some time to relax, she would crochet. I have several of her gorgeous tablecloths as well. Our friend, Ida, learned and perfected her needle art skills when she was a young girl living with the nuns in a private convent school in Paris!

IMG_3531

I am humbled by their expertise and patience! As I waited for the release and delivery of my copy of this Uppercase issue, I played around with machine sewing doilies to a denim jacket. By using a straight stitch, a small zig zag stitch and a walking foot attachment on my sewing machine, I was able to eliminate the bunching up of the lace…thank goodness for differential feed!!

Credit goes to my creative photog daughter T for taking some pics of me in the jacket. And although I love the combination of the old (doilies) and the new (denim jacket), I am planning on tea dyeing the doilies to soften the contrast just a bit.

IMG_3504

IMG_3522

The simplicity of this recycling and upcycling is another example of how easy it can be to transform a basic article of clothing into something fun, different and artistic! This October, I will be teaching techniques like this and more at my workshop, “Art Retreat Threads” at the well-respected and attended “Art is You” Retreat in Stamford, CT.

For more information on my workshop, click here.

Stay tuned for updated photos of my soon-to-be, tea dyed doily denim jacket! And FYI, if you do get the opportunity to check out issue #26 of Uppercase, the article is on page 88. My piece is on pages 100-101. A footnote here: unfortunately the magazine incorrectly marked which were my doilies! Mine are the 3 cuties in the upper left corner that have a #2 next to them!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. betti zucker
    Jul 09, 2015 @ 16:06:54

    OMG! congratulation on beeing in Uppercase! I’m going to run out and get the issue! Then to top off your blog with a wonderful denim jacket embellished with your vintage lace! over the top fabulousness!

    Reply

  2. Nancy Lefko
    Jul 09, 2015 @ 17:49:17

    Wonderful !!! Congratulations. BZ is right; the article is FAB and what you have done to the denim jacket is over the moon great! Awesome all around! xoxo

    Reply

  3. Lynn Mervosh
    Jul 09, 2015 @ 19:10:45

    Hooray E! Can’t wait to see you, the jacket and the issue! Aunt Angie (and Ida, too) are surely smiling on you. Congratulations to my super awesome sis!

    Reply

  4. Dawn Gold
    Jul 10, 2015 @ 06:56:07

    Brilliant transformation of jacket…
    Congratulations on being published in UPPERCASE, don’t think we get that here x you are mighty clever

    Reply

  5. Nancy
    Jul 14, 2015 @ 08:14:09

    Lovely! Congrats too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

