Hoody Love!

IMG_3446

Hanging quietly in my closet was this simple, little zippered jacket that hadn’t been worn in years. That was about to change when I the itch to stitch on her!

I had just finished sewing up a shift dress in this black and white polka dot knit fabric when I had that “light bulb” moment to freshen up this hoody with a simple ruffle, of the same dotty fabric, to both sides of the front zipper closure. I measured the zipper area top to bottom both sides and then multiplied it by two (doubling the measurement ensures a nice full ruffle). I decided on a 4″ wide strip of fabric and after using a long machine stitch length at about 5/8″ from the top edge, I gathered the fabric to make the ruffle. I opted to overlock the raw edges but they could have easily been left raw or turned up. Since this was a knit fabric, I used a zig zag stitch to attach the ruffle. Super cute, no?!  On the back I added a fabric backed with double-sided fusible in a “10” as a tribute to this the 10th Anniversary of Art is You Retreats. Two very simple ways to perk up a basic sweatshirt hoody!

IMG_3449

Under the jacket, I am showing a baseball style T where I repeated appliqué stitching “10” again using the fabric backed fusible web method.  Since T-shirts are usually not the most stable things to stitch onto, I usually iron a piece of freezer paper onto the wrong side of the fabric in the area I am planning to stitch. This provides an additional stabilizing layer. The freezer paper makes the machine sewing a breeze and then easily tears away after stitching!!

IMG_3448

These are some more of the fun ways to makeover, recycle and freshen up garments that you already own into fun and functional pieces to wear while you are making art at home or off site! Everyone always works so hard to create their own special unique artistic pieces, showing their your personal style and talents! Your art making clothes should reflect your individuality as well! Join me to learn techniques like these and many more in my workshop at “Art Retreat Threads” this October at Art is You Stamford. Click here to read about my class and to sign up!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Mervosh
    Jun 14, 2015 @ 14:32:22

    So fun, E! I love the idea of the freezer wrap!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

