Sweatshirt Fairy Tale

Once upon a time there was an old, plain sweatshirt. Nothing wrong with her, just a plain jane gray. You know the type.  Recently while I was sewing away in my studio, I heard this tiny voice calling from the closet.

“Is anyone out there?” said the voice.

I walked over, opened the closet door, pushed back some clothes and heard the voice again,

“Over here”, it said

“Well, hi there”, I said (just realizing I was in fact talking to a piece of clothing).

“Thank goodness you heard me! I have been trying to get someone’s attention for some time now.”said a sweatshirt. “My name is Little Gray (LG), and I’m feeling a little overwhelmed in here with all these clothes. Is there anyway you can please help me look cool like them?”

“Well of course I can, LG.  Let’s take a look at you and see what we can do.” I said

I told Little Gray about my upcoming workshop “Art Retreat Threads” at Art is You, Stamford this October and she immediately lit up!  “I’d be willing to be a class sample if you’d like…I really could use a makeover!” she said.

I said I was game if she was, so I began to make suggestions as to how we can change up her look.

“How about if we try a flower design:  free motion embroider the petals,  reverse appliqué and then bead the flower’s center?

IMG_3321

Then we’ll stamp an inspirational word under the flower. Let’s add side pleats by opening up your side seams and inserting this batik fabric..that would look great. The neckline could use some trim,  maybe this stretch lace? To round out the design, let’s add some more free motion flowers on the front and back sides down by the pleats.  What do you think? I asked.

IMG_3362

 

 

 

 

IMG_3363

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Yes, yes, yes to everything!’ Little Gray said with delight!

So that’s just what we did. When I was done, I tried LG on and we looked into the mirror.

“WOW, I’m so arty and cool!” She exclaimed. “Thank you so much for this makeover, I feel so ready to rock this new look (very nice manners for a sweatshirt, I must say!)!.

IMG_3368

Then LG asked, “I have a couple ugly step sisters, “Holey Jeans” and “Sloppy Sweats”, can you help upcycle them too?”

“Of course, LG, I would be happy to!” I said. So off we went to gather them up for their redo.

And they all lived happily ever after….to be continued!

Join me, Little Gray, Holey and Sloppy and a whole cast of characters (!) for a great day of re and up cycling clothes from your closet.  It will be such a fun, stimulating and transforming wardrobe experience!

To learn more about my workshop Art is You, Stamford                “Art Retreat Threads”, click here!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Mervosh
    May 03, 2015 @ 12:16:06

    Oh Fairy Godmother, E, the ladies in my closet want makeovers now, too! So fun.

    Reply

  2. Dawn Gold
    May 04, 2015 @ 03:07:59

    Wonderful class..what fun it would be

    Reply

Leave a Reply

