Day 19 Make & Give: Sacked!

 

dsy 19 pic 1

Today is the nineteenth day of my special holiday season of giving. From now until December 25th, I plan to make and or do something special for someone I may or may not know.I’m hoping that these little acts of kindness will inspire my readers and their friends to do the same!

Today I am looking forward to lunching with my bridal seamstress gal pals! I haven’t seen them in a few weeks since we have been seasonally laid off and I miss ’em! I can’t wait to hear what they have been sewing and making! I will be gifting them some handmades but what I’d like to share is how I wrapped their Christmas gifts: cheesecloth sacks! On sunny summer and early autumn days, I can be found outside dying fabric in my back yard. Warm, low humidity days are perfect for quick drying. I usually use Procion MX Reactive dyes for Immersion Dying (in 5 gal buckets). Sometimes the fabric goes in the dye bath as is and sometimes I use Shibori techniques to bind and tie. I dye all kinds of natural fiber fabric pieces, trims and cheesecloth. When they are done in the bath, I lay them out on the grass or over a clothes line to dry.  Cheesecloth dyes super quick, it absorbs the dye almost instantly. Indigo was my go to color this season, love, love!

 

day 19 pic 2

My little gift sacks use up only about 12″x by the width of the cheesecloth.  And even though cheesecloth has a very open weave and is pretty dimensionally unstable, I can still feed it through my serger to make the side seams. I leave the tops of the bags with the raw edge, very organic looking!

day 19 pic 3

For embellishing, I glitter spray painted chipboard snowflakes silver and initials hot pink. Rayon bias tape was used to tie up the sacks and peppermint floral pick was the finishing touch.

Simple and sweet!

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nancy Lefko
    Dec 19, 2014 @ 09:22:59

    gorgeous!

    Reply

  2. betti zucker
    Dec 19, 2014 @ 12:00:09

    love! I want to dye with you next summer! Where did you get the 5 gal dye buckets?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

