Holiday Handmades 2013

20131224-095226.jpg

Hope everyone had a wonderful holiday season so far! I wanted to share some of my the handmades I made as gifts for dear family members and friends.
First my annual journals. I always choose a word or two as well as an image to inspire the design of the journal cover. This years words were “Write” and “Dream”. I use a traditional composition notebook as the cover is so nice and sturdy. I laid a piece of burlap then a strip of hand stamped muslin. Some strips had a little embroidery and or beading. I added a felted snowflake coaster that I spray painted either red or gold.

Table Runners in both ivory and natural burlap were another handmade. I used fusible tape to hem the long sides to stop fraying. Stencils and stamps were used to add snowflakes and inspirational words to the overall design.

20131227-191717.jpg

Tea Towels stamped with “wish”, “believe” and”dream” were another handmade gift.

20131227-191938.jpg

Here are some pics of how I wrapped up some of my handmades!

20131227-192117.jpg

I love painting large pieces of heavy watercolor paper that I cut down into tags, cards and for the insides of the front covers my holiday journals.

20131227-192554.jpg

20131227-192610.jpg

Another satisfying creative holiday season! Time to clean up the studio for my next challenge… Stay tuned!!

20131227-185715.jpg

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. betti zucker
    Dec 28, 2013 @ 09:35:35

    Lovely post, fabulous gifts, and I was one of those lucky people to receive

    Reply

Leave a Reply

