Birthday Art Play

So today is my bday and yes I am another year younger…just in case you’re wondering!

And my original plan was to do this….

20120916-171613.jpg
…which could still happen but instead I continued to work on painting two large pieces of canvas started earlier this week.

For the last 5 years, and this is #6, I have the attended Art Is You…East
coast retreat in CT. artisyou.com Oh, when you go to the site, you’ll see a pair of red painted “gunked up” hands on the banner… those paws are yours truly!! An honor for sure to be front and center on the site! Thanks Sal!
Excuse me, I digress!

AIY is held in October and the site is in Stamford this time. Participants choose from many wonderful classes in many different areas of mixed media art. We eat, sleep and play with art, design and also bring trades to swap with other attendees..mine will be journals using these painted canvases.

We have had such gorgeous weather that I set up shop painting outside on our picnic table and then let the canvases dry on the grass and then on the deck.

20120916-172847.jpg

20120916-172900.jpg</a
Now I'm at the stage where I'm painting with everyday items to create more interest to the foundation/painted surface. Some of my techniques include using masking tape, corks, sea sponges, bubble wrap, rubber stamps, sequin waste, sheetrock screen tape and free form painting. After this layer of embellishment dries, I'll probably go back in and use some oil pastels and smudge it up a bit!

20120916-173404.jpg

20120916-173418.jpg

20120916-173429.jpg
Next I will cut the canvas down to probably 4×8″ size and then cut some nice Canson Mixed Media paper to sew into the center fold. This will make a little 4″ square journal. I will use a variety of different size and font letter rubber stamps to stamp out the theme of this year’s retreat, “Wild, Weird and Wonderful” to finish the front and back covers. When I’m all done I’ll do a quick a quick post to show you the finished pieces!

Thanks everybody for all your bday well wishes! Now maybe I’ll crack open that nice big fat issue of September Vogue, an annual must read to stay on trend! Haha!
Cheers!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy Nesi
    Sep 16, 2012 @ 21:23:29

    Love it!!!!

    Reply

  2. lauradotcalm
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 12:17:37

    Happy Birthday girl!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

