Things We hope We Taught You!

So, the first Care Package I sent to my daughter included a very special handmade book.
I thought it would be fun (!) for my husband, son and family kitty to share some bits of wisdom and humor with T as she embarks on her college experience.

20120911-162035.jpg</a

I collaged all sorts of paper memorabilia from her high school Senior year and our summer vacation on top of a muslin fabric base and made paper fabric. The many layers of papers, gel and matte medium made the paper fabric nice n stiff. I cut the one large sheet into pages. On some pages I added a second small pocket to put tiny photos and treats and on other pages I sewed raw edge ribbons, tags from clothes purchased for her to bring to school or photos. Next I stitched two pages together on three sides keeping the top open creating a pocket.

20120911-163024.jpg

Inside the page pockets were the letters and notes we wrote (or in the case of our cat, dictated!). I used a Crop-a-Dial to hole punch the pages, and metal rings to “bind” the book.
As the finishing touch I used lots of raw edge strips of fabric to tie around the rings. I hope she enjoys it!!
Love ya T and love to my contributing writers/humorists (you know who you are!).

20120911-164021.jpg

20120911-164041.jpg

20120911-164058.jpg

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Patty D
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 16:07:16

    What a fun idea Elizabeth! I’m sure she’ll love every detail

    Reply

  2. Colleen
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 16:12:39

    if they’re the same satirists who compose the christmas letter, i’m sure the letters are hilariously heartfelt oxoxo

    Reply

  3. kathy nesi
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 18:43:30

    so beautiful, elizabeth! what a wonderful book

    Reply

Leave a Reply

