Memories in Cloth

It’s coming into that time of the year where we have many wonderful celebrations: graduations, anniversaries etc. And what is more memorable than a keepsake quilt! I have made and taught how to make T shirt quilts for several years. This season I have two to make myself: one commemorating my parents 60th wedding anniversary and the second one for our daughter’s upcoming high school graduation. The first step is selecting which T’s make the cut, no pun intended?! For M& D’s quilt I called upon my sibs, their spouses and their children to contribute their favorite T’s. And herein often lies the challenge! I typically use a 15″ block size which is usually a very good fit for most T shirt logos etc, however I did have a few that weren’t T’s at all, rather tank tops or a pretty dressier top and one of the T’s was a child size. So it was time for some Yankee ingenuity: I fused then stitched the usable part of the shirt to a 15″ fused background cloth and voila! Next step was deciding on sashing and border fabrics. I let Mom choose since it will go into their home: she chose navy for sashing and a golden yellow for the wide border. At our local Joann’s I found a great navy Kona cotton and a glorious Indonesian batik with several warm golden yellow tones (pictured)! My next step is to cut up all that and begin piecing. I will keep you all posted on my process! For my daughter’s quilt I will need to sit her down with the bin of T’s that we’ve saved over the years…ahhhhh, another lovely walk down memory lane!

20120403-152231.jpg

Tshirts made into 15″ blocks

20120403-152420.jpg

Batik fabric for the wide border

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Colleen
    Apr 03, 2012 @ 15:11:43

    I get compliments on my quilt all the time! It was one of the BEST projects I ever worked on with ya! 🙂 I still cannot believe Tess is going to be graduating!! Also I love Nana’s color selections for their quilt, as well!

    I also may or may not have promised multiple people that upon graduation I’ll make a bevy of Marquette t-shirt quilts as well…

    Reply

  2. elizabeth duke
    Apr 03, 2012 @ 18:45:40

    miss colleen, i too remember working with you on your memorty quilt,
    wasn’t it just yesterday?! ’tis true that our dear T will be a graduate soon…
    for the time being, denial is working nicely for me !
    question: qunatify “Bevy of quilts”! know know where to come to
    for quilting triage!
    thanks for following!
    big hug,
    mrs d
    ps happy easter!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

