“Holey Jeans”!

IMG_3422

Here is the final installment of the so-called Unfortunate/Ugly Garment Stepsisters of the plain and simple. If you missed the last part of this series,  click here.

In this last part of the trilogy, I’m showcasing a pair of overalls. And again they are okay as is, but who in our creative community is satisfied with okay…meh!! Now I know the whole frayed and distressed look is still trending but I thought here is an creative opportunity if I ever saw one!

I started by patching up the holes from the inside with fun fabric scraps. Then added some embroidery stitching.

IMG_3437

IMG_3438

Here’s a couple leg shots! By opening up the leg side seams a bit, I could easily get in to do the work.

The pinks and blue patterns of the fabric scraps and the colorful floss, give it a little pop!

For many years, have loved adding words to my pieces so I stamped SEW on the front of the overalls, STITCH on the back and then a simple running stitch….

IMG_3420

I loved helping out the Unfortunate Step Sisters get their looks together. What’s so fun about projects like this is that you can always go back and add more stitching, fabric paint stamping and trims! It’s your look to define!

In my Art Is You Stamford Workshop this October, “Art Retreat Threads”, I will be guiding you along to create your own garment transformations!

Click here to read more about the workshop

Leave a comment